Main OBS

About BetterObs™

SASOG have devised the BetterOBS™ program with the intention of promoting safer deliveries, healthier babies, better outcomes all round and consequently decreased opportunities for litigation.

The BetterOBS™ program consists of 4 pillars.

  1. All deliveries (NVD’s & CS’s) should have a signed (Obstetrician, Patient and witness) consent form filed in the patient’s file (Dr and hospital files) (see the consent form on the BetterObs App).
  2. All deliveries should have a cord pH done and documented in the file and hospital delivery register (see the patient delivery form on the BetterObs App).
  3. All deliveries should have an appropriate delivery report in the patient file (see the patient delivery report on the SASOG App or the SASOG delivery form).
  4. All hospitals (along with the Lead Obstetricians) should ensure 2 monthly M&M meetings take place and appropriate notes kept (and M&M meeting logged on the SASOG App).

The purpose of these 4 pillars is to reduce Medico Legal responsibilities for all parties to the minimum. BetterObs will continue to communicate with the Hospital Groups to ensure adherence to these safe delivery issues. All Hospital Group Clinical managers have committed their support to these efforts.


Lead Obstetrician is appointed in each hospital as the champion of the program in each hospital (along with the Hospital manager) and will also be responsible to lead/delegate the teaching sessions for the nursing staff in each hospital.

Protocols and Guidelines have been introduced to the labour wards for staff and medical practitioners to follow.

The Obstetric Handbook (written by Prof Priya Soma - Pillay) is being purchased by the hospital groups and handed to each Obstetrician This book should also be made available to the nursing staff.

The M&M Meetings  held every 2 months,  is a self peer review process involving all involved in maternity.

BetterObs™ Committee
Project HeadDr Johannes Van Waart
National Lead ObstetriciansDr Johannes Van Waart; Dr Sagie Naidu and Prof Priya Soma-Pillay, Dr JP Du Buisson
Western CapeDr Reinarda van Waart
Eastern CapeDr Clayton Grieve
KZNDr Rajesh Gangaram
Northern GautengDr Miems Kleynhans
Southern GautengProf Bash Goolab


BetterObs documents have been developed by interdisciplinary healthcare teams utilising the best available evidence and resources believed to be accurate and current at the time of release. They are intended to provide general advice and guidance on which to base clinical decisions. SASOG takes no responsibility for matters arising from changed circumstances or information that may have become available after issued. They must not be solely relied on or used as a substitute for assessing the individual needs of each patient.

BetterObs Clinical Guidelines

Abdominal Trauma In Pregnancy

Antenatal Ultrasonography Screening In Pregnancy

Antepartum Haemorrhage

Caesarean Section

Cord Blood Analysis

Delayed Cord Clamping

Diabetes In Pregnancy

Fetal Heart Traces

 HIV In Pregnancy

Hypertensive Disorders In Pregnancy

Induction Of Labour

Intrauterine Fetal Death

Magnesium Sulphate

Maternal Sepsis

Nausea And Vomiting In Pregnancy

Placenta Accreta Spectrum Disorders


Post Partum Haemorrhage

Preconception Counselling

Premature (Prelabour) Rupture Of Membranes

Prenatal Tests

Preterm Labour With Intact Membranes

Pulmonary Embolism Diagnosis And Management

Reasonable Options For T21 Screening In RSA 2022

Reduced Fetal Movements

RH Disease And Alloimmunisation

Risk Assessment In Pregnancy

Severe PET Imminent Eclampsia Flowchart

Shoulder Dystocia

Thromboprophylaxis In Obstetrics

Umbilical Cord Prolapse

Vaccinations In Pregnancy